Horas and konnichiwa untuk semua


Japanese language support on BlackBerry
May 14, 2008, 3:44 pm
Filed under: en/Mobile

I finally got a conclusion regarding Japanese language support on BlackBerry. It is rumored that BlackBerry 8707v supports Japanese language input with software version 4.2.2. This is supposedly because NTT DoCoMo is using 8707h, a 8707 series for DoCoMo. I got a 8707g but it did not have Japanese language input. I got 4.2.2 software from DoCoMo site but somehow it could not recognize my 8707g. Here are the findings and conclusion I got:

1. 8707g also supports Japanese language (so any letter will seem to work)
2. Japanese language display is supported, though not perfectly as sometimes it shows strange characters, when Chinese software is inluded (this is the condition when I initially got the 8707g, it could display Japanese mails and SMS though sometimes strangely)
3. BlackBerry OS software that is carrier specific only works for BlackBerry from that carrier, though it is said that it would work with any BlackBerry if you remove the VENDOR.XML file*) located at:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader\VENDOR.XML
(This seems to be the reason why the DoCoMo specific software does not work with my 8707g, since it is a SingTel version).
4. When I used SingTel specific 4.2.2 (i.e., 8707vCJK_PBr4.2.2_rel302_PL3.4.0.24_A4.2.2.122_SingTel.exe), I immediately got a list of language support, including Japanese language input.

Now it works like a charm!

References:
*)http://www.blackberryforums.com/rim-software/1871-blackberryos-4-x-download-faq-upgrade-downloads.html
Device software can be downloaded here:
http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/downloads/#tab_tab_desktop


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment